ⓘ E. X. Giroux

E. X. Giroux

ⓘ E. X. Giroux

E. X. Giroux, the pseudonym of Doris Shannon, who also wrote under her own name, was a U.S born Canadian writer of mystery novels set in the United Kingdom. Her published work appeared in two series of 10 novels each between 1972 and 1993. Earlier, between 1942 and 1949, she worked as a clerk for the Royal Bank of Canada in Napanee, Ontario, and Vancouver, British Columbia.


1. Critical reception

Writing for the St. James Guide to Crime and Mystery Writers, Carol M. Harper says, "E. X. Giroux has created a pair of detectives who get into the business by accident. Robert Robby Forsyth is barrister. Abigail Sandy Sanderson his secretary. They have special knowledge, special skills, which make them a fascinating team, respected by the police and lionized by the press."

Kirkus Reviews pans Shannons 1981 novel, The Punishment. Its reviewer says, "Obviously at sea outside her historical-romance niche, Shannon Beyond the Shining Mountains delivers this gnarled nonsense in shrill, leaden dialogue and prose that swings from routine-tacky to epically awful. Still, for undiscriminating fans of lurid horror-shows - a very busy, probably passable stew.

Of the E. X. Giroux mystery A Death for a Dreamer 1989 Publishers Weekly says, "After six Girouxs series featuring barrister Robert Forsythe and his loyal secretary, Abigail Sandy Sanderson, the author shows no signs of faltering. Her latest effort is another well-crafted mystery with vividly depicted characters." Of a later Giroux novel, A Death for a Dancing Doll 1991, a reviewer writes, "Though the pace occasionally drags, particularly over interludes of redundant Q & A, Giroux wraps up the action with a chillingly apt denouement."


2. Bibliography

As E. X. Giroux

  • A Death for Adonis 1984
  • A Death for a Dancing Doll 1991
  • A Death for a Dreamer 1989
  • The Dying Room 1993
  • A Death for a Dancer 1985
  • A Death for a Dietitian 1988
  • A Death for a Dilettante 1987
  • A Death for a Doctor 1986
  • A Death for a Dodo 1993
  • A Death for a Darling 1985

As Doris Shannon

  • Cains Daughters 1978
  • Family Money 1984
  • Little Girls Lost 1981
  • Hawthorn Hill 1976
  • The Punishment 1981
  • Twenty-two Hallofield 1974
  • The Whispering Runes 1972
  • The Seekers 1975
  • The Lodestar Legacy 1976
  • Beyond the Shining Mountains 1979

Users also searched: